Saiunkoku Monogatari

Saiunkoku Monogatari

Apr. 08, 2006
Your rating: 0
8 1 vote


Views: 346 views




The Story of Saiunkoku (彩雲国物語 Saiunkoku Monogatari, literally “Tale of the Kingdom of Colored Clouds”) is a series of Japanese light novels written by Sai Yukino and illustrated by Kairi Yura. As of July 2011, the eighteenth and final volume was released, concluding the series. Four side story anthologies have also been released, collecting stories originally published in The Beans magazine.

Saiunkoku is a world of eight provinces or houses, each named after a different colour. The new Emperor, Shi Ryuuki, has gained for a reputation for being uninterested in courtly matters and for flaunting his love for men. Shuurei, although born of the important Kou family, has difficulty making ends meet. She easily accepts an invitation to be the Emperor’s concubine in order to turn him into a good ruler. The mysterious Seiran, a young man who was adopted by her father, goes with her as Ryuuki’s bodyguard. Entering the imperial palace revives Shuurei’s dream of being a court official, and, together with the many companions she meets along the way, continues moving bravely forward while trying to fend off the Emperor’s advances.
Saiunkoku Monogatari
Original title さいうんこくものがたり
TMDb Rating 7 1 votes
First air date Apr. 08, 2006
Last air date Mar. 08, 2008
Seasons 2
Episodes 78
Average Duration 25 minutes

Similar titles

Chio-chan no Tsuugakuro (Dub)
Choujigen Game Neptune: The Animation (Dub)
Nodame Cantabile (Dub)
Kuroshitsuji: Book of Circus (Dub)
Happy Sugar Life
Prison School (Dub)
Hanyou no Yashahime: Sengoku Otogizoushi
Tsuritama (Dub)
Golden Time (Dub)
Hai to Gensou no Grimgar (Dub)
To LOVE-Ru Darkness OVA
Tiger & Bunny

Leave a comment

Name *
Add a display name
Email *
Your email address will not be published